Eat, Clean, Do Yoga and Repeat

 

IMG_2359The past two weeks have been super busy!  To top it off, I have noticed my energy lately has been a  bit off ( possibly to do with the business).

It’s almost like an anxious feeling that I keep getting, like a constant naggin feeling to hurry up because if I have so many things do yet not enough time to do them. You know what I mean!? Its overwhelmng and  really not a fun feeling.

Anyway I think it is largely due to the fact that I have been really busy with wedding planning, and work and  with that comes less time for things I like to do for myself. Explample: yoga, reading, cooking,  even just cleaning around our place.. guys our place is really bad right now!!! I mean we are at the point of having no clean dishes to use and I am pretty sure the clean clothes that have been sitting in our basket for 1 week has now started getting intertwined with the dirty clothes.. *sigh* this means I will probably throw everything in the washer and dryer again and undoutably things might just get a double wash( I call this laziness at it’s finest).

Anyway I typically get home after my day with only a few hours before I got to bed and repeat.

This is only a few hours to get my yoga class prepared for the next day, prepare breakfast and lunch for both Perry and I and get dinner going ( not a lot of time). I also find it difficult to eat healthy when you’re a little strapped on time as it’s just so easy to order in a pizza or go out for something to eat ( which I really try an avoid doing as I as super picky about where my food comes from BUT that’s another blog).

Anyway the other night I made these awesome veggie patties! They were really easy to make ,super light and a healthy meal for the nights that you may be eating later or just do not have alot of time to make something.

They also freeze well so you can always keep them for another day!

ingredients:
About 2 cups dried chickpeas, soaked overnight and drained OR one can chickpeas
2 medium-sized carrots peeled and shredded (about one cup, unpacked)
1/3 cup corn
1/3 cup peas
1 small onion
2 cloves of garlic
A handful or two of spinach
A big handful of fresh herbs*
3 tablespoons bread crumbs
3 tablespoons flour
spices about half a teaspoon of each: smoked paprika, cumin**
salt and pepper
oil for cooking

 

IMG_6977

( Sorry about the light on the left hand side.. picture-taking is not my strongest talent.) 

IMG_6976

process carrots, peas, corn, onion, and garlic in food processor until mostly chopped.

IMG_6978

Chickpeas and fresh Cilantro ( you can use any fresh herbs you have) 

IMG_6979

place chickpeas and herbs in processor and grind until mostly smooth. add to vegetable mixture in bowl

IMG_6981

Combining all ingredients in one bowl. Form patties

IMG_6983

on hot, oiled skillet, fry patties. I find its best if you don’t move them around, just let a nice crust form on the edges of the patties

IMG_6986

transfer  patty’s to a baking sheet and allow to cook in oven for approximately 10 minutes

IMG_6988

Tada!! Veggies patties!!!! I paired these patties with a spinach salad lightly tossed in balsamic vinegar and oil and topped it off some fresh organic tomatoes.

Its Friday and I am hoping I can catch up no a few things  this weekend as well as get some much need downtime and rest.

Hope you guys have a fantastic weekend ahead of you! Dont work to hard!

Mackenzie

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

