A Personal Day.

IMG_0135

 

Well Hello All!

Good news! Only two more working days before a long weekend!!! ( for us Canadians anyway) May 23rd is Victoria Day. If I am being honest, I have no idea what that means besides the fact that it is a paid holiday! haha No, I joke.. kinda.. I am pretty sure it is to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Birthday…. seems like a legit reason for a stat holiday to me!

Anyway.. I ended up taking a much needed rsonal day yesterday and can I just say how nice it was. I mean let’s get honest, this whole 5 day work week is kinda bull shit.

I feel like it is so much to expect from our selves to constantly be on the go, checking off things on the to do list, never really taking time for ourselves.

I know this is not the way the entire world operates .. Europe does it right, 4 day work weeks and afternoon naps. I think I need to move there.

Here in Calgary, it’s a fast paced work environment with a  little amount of “me” time. After working, cleaning the house, Making dinner and lunches, working out, grocery’s and everything else that needs to get done on a regular basis I end up being completely exhausted at the end of the day.  Weekends end up being all about catching up on my chores, and prepping for the week ahead.

So when do we get some much deserved time to do what ever we want?   I mean, this is our one life to live and yet I often get the feeling that I am not living it for me, I am just doing what I feel like I have to do.

So yesterday I decided to take the day off. Off from everything,work,  technology, responsibility,nothing at all to do, besides what I wanted to do. I will say, I felt so guilty about it that night! I couldn’t even sleep.. I kept thinking I shouldn’t be taking the day off for no reason!

That is a problem. That is what society is making us feel like, anxiety ridden if you slow down even just for a moment.

So how was my day off?

It  was so nice!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m not sure why I don’t do this more often. I started the day with a nice long meditation, reading, going on a few long nature walks with my dog,hung out with a friend for a bit and soaked in a bath for an hour! It was exactly what I needed. A day to just be. A day to love myself, take care of myself and relax.

At the end of the day, this is our one life to live. If we are not living it fully and exactly how we want, then what is the point?

So that full rant all to say, take those days for your self. You are worth it and you deserve it.

Macaroni aka Mackenzie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

