A Few Good Reads.

FullSizeRender

This past year I have had the pleasure of adding reading back into my life and I must  say, it has been so great! I actually had to question myself as to why I haven’t been reading all of these years and why did I ever stop!?

I specifically  like the books where I’m learning, and expanding my knowledge of the subject. Despite of what I found in school, I actually really love learning! Correction*  I  like learning things I am interested in and not so much the stuff I am not so interested it. Which might be why I had “ok” grades. :p

I have been reading right before bed, which I have found has been a great  way to wind down for the night. I find it helps to remove myself from the TV, computer or my phone ( which is something that I really need to be doing, let’s be honest..  we all should.

Anyway, I  thought I would make a list of the books I’ve been reading lately and the books I plan to read, hopefully REALLY soon.

So here it is.
Many lives, Many Masters – By Brian L Weiss MD
I’ll start and say that this book took me for a loop, in a good way. It actually made me look at death and life very differently ( again, in a good way) . Its super spiritual ( which I love) but I wouldn’t recommended it for everyone, I mean, it is about past life therapy, which is not everyone’s cup of tea. That being said, it really is a great book! It’s a super easy read and may just change your outlook on life.

The Yamas and Niyamas- By Deborah Adele

 If you don’t know, the Yamas and Niyamas are basically the yogas ethical moral codes.In saying that, if you’re not a yogi, I doubt this book will interest you as much, although  I think these moral codes are something everyone should be following. For me, this is one of the most accessible books I’ve found to start exploring the first two “limbs” of Patanjali’s Sutras. If you want to learn more about the Yamas and Niyamas, I defiantly suggest this version!
You Are Here-By Thich Naht Hanh
I just bought this book, but I’m super looking forward to this read! I love any books that I have read by Thich Naht hanh and let be honest, It’s so easy to get lost in thought, especially in this day and age! This book seems like such a simple aid to help find more balance in thought. Sometimes you just need the reminder to ‘be here now’. No past. No future. Just trusting the now.

 

Peace In Every Step of the Way -By Thich Naht Hanh
Again this is another read by Thich Naht hanh , This is a great book as a reminder that peace really can be with you in every step of the way. From washing dishes, to walking outside, to showering. You can find that peace that is within you, it’s just about changing your mind frame to think in this way. I like to read a chapter a week in this book and for the rest of the week, I work on finding the peace in the subject of what im reading in the chapter. It has been a fantastic exercise and I would recommend it to everyone!

The Tree of Yoga – BKS Iyengar

This book is a great guide for brining yoga off the mat and into your everyday life. In this book, BSK Iyengr teaches his core teachings and advice for living a long, healthy, happy life. It compares the tree as a structural metaphor for both life and yoga practice. I find this book also covers many aspects of life and practice which are vital to health and happiness and in need of care which I love.
What are some of your favorite reads?

 

Mackenzie V

One thought on “A Few Good Reads.

  1. Pingback: Lombok, Indonesia. | Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

