A Day for Thanks ( and Pretty Decor)

img_0172

hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving day this weekend!

We  started our day  off by hanging out in bed a little extra longer then we normally would. It was so nice not to feel rushed or to have anywhere to be! Afterwards we made hot Matcha lattes and talked about how grateful we are for all that has happened for us this year as well  talked about how we wanted to celebrate the holidays in years to come as a family someday.

For me, Thanksgiving is not so much just a day as it is a full season. Starting October 1st, I basically begin to feel the Thanksgiving vibes all around me. It usually starts with the falling of the leaves, the crisp air, the smell of pumpkin spice everything and that feeling you get when wearing your favorite sweater!!

Most of all, though, I love the chance to really focus on the important stuff. You know, the treasures that most of us are surrounded by yet we don’t always acknowledge.

img_0177

i’m a true believer that life is all about perspective. I can focus on my blessings, or i can focus on the ones i don’t have. There have been times in my life when i’ve only focused on what i hadn’t yet reached, or didn’t have, always feeling like i’d be happy or grateful once i reached a certain point or a certain something happened. but as i have gone through some bigger personal trials and obstacles in my life, I’ve realized the energy it takes to just be down about them all day long is too overwhelming and exhausting for me. Sometimes it’s easier to let things go and just have trust in the universe. I mean, I don’t have this down 100%, but I am working on it! 😉

I’m thankful for my life, my family, friends. I’m thankful to be working and to be able to have a steady paycheck, for good food, for music and the holidays, for all Perry and I have accomplished so far this year. I’m  even thankful for smaller sillier things like my body brush, pumpkin Spice lattes,  Christmas lights,  good smelling candles and working trains.

I’m thankful for this season, and thanksgiving in particular, because it’s always nice  take into account what a beautiful world this one really is, even with all its ups and downs, and how much we have to be thankful for.

Below are are few photos from our Thanksgiving dinner

img_0194

Perry with our nephew. He is going to be such a good Dad! I cant wait for that one day. 

 

 

img_0187

Dinner setting Details. 

img_0191img_0192img_0179

img_0184img_0197

img_0193

All in the details. 

img_0189

Cheers and hope you all had/ have ( for your Americans) a fantastic Thanksgiving!

Mackenzie A.

Leave a Reply

