Jamu Juice: A Healing Beverage.

img_0474

During my honeymoon in Bali, Indonesia I fell in love with a traditional Indonesian Juice called Jamu. Every morning Perry and I would go for breakfast and there was always a cold Jamu Juice with shot glasses ready to be consumed. I think the thing that originally got me so interested in this juice ( I have never been into juice) was because it was made from Ginger and Turmeric.

Turmeric is one of the most powerful healing herbs and in Chinese herbal medicine and is known as a natural liver detoxifier, a kidney cleanser, aids in metabolism speed as well as weight management.  It is also great for bones and joints as it has anti-inflammatory properties, plud it is a known natural cancer fighter preventing metastases from occurring in many different forms of cancer…  So yes I LOVE Turmeric!

Ginger Root is also a very powerful healing herb which contains several medicinal properties such as reducing muscle pain and soreness,  anti-inflammatory, lowers blood sugars, treats chronic indigestion, lower cholesterol and is also known for cancer fighting properties.

Now anyone who knows me knows that if I come across something healthy that my ears perk up like a dog and I’m right in there giving it a go.  For me Jamu was a no brainer, now that I am home and its currently freezing, I like to drink my Jamu Juice hot like a tea. I find it really soothing and sweet enough that it’s usually enough to combat that sweet tooth I have late at night. 🙂

Jamu Juice 

Makes approximately 4 cups

Ingredients :

2 pieces of Turmeric Root

1 chunk of Ginger Root

1 Litre of filtered  Spring Water

1 Lemon

Honey

How to make:

Grate or dice Turmeric root and Ginger roots together.

Boil Turmeric and Ginger in the water for about 30 minutes or until the it gets a slightly creamy texture.

Allow the tea to cool and pour mixture into blender adding lemon and honey to taste.

Blend until frothy, strain and serve warm or cold. Like I mentioned above, I like it warm.

Refrigerate in a mason jar up to one week( but if your anything like me it wont last that long)

TIPS:
+ SUGARS
 go slow with the honey and taste as you poor, this is really individual to the person

As the Balinese say, ‘a glass a day will heal all of your health issues’.

Be sure to give this recipe a GO and ENJOY!!  I’d love to hear what your thoughts of Jamu Juice or maybe you’ve tried it yourself in Bali – share your comments with me below.

Stay Healthy All,

Mackenzie A.

Leave a Reply

